Naveen Kumar is a flautist, music composer and singer based in Mumbai, India. A prolific recording artiste who has contributed immensely to the Hindi, Tamil and Telugu film industries, he is best known for his collaborations with Academy-Award winning music composer AR Rahman. Apart from Indian flutes, Naveen is also proficient at playing rare and exotic varieties from across the world. He is the inventor of many unique wind instruments, the most renowned being The Naveen Flute, which combines the flute tone with the vibration of strings.

61171_4202512898751_2078241801_n-w800Having directed six south films and lent his voice to several hit songs, Naveen also has six albums to his credit, the most recent being Flutetronics (2013). Others include Never Say Goodbye (2006), Fluid (2006), Celebration 2010, Café Fluid (2010), Melodies Of Love (2011).

His long association with Rahman has delivered numerous musical gems in the past two decades, some of them being the acclaimed soundtracks for films such as Roja (1992), Bombay (1995), Dil Se (1998), Raanjhanaa (2013) and Highway (2014), among many others. Naveen has also worked with several other famed music directors in Indian cinema, such as Ilayaraja, Pritam, Shankar-Ehsaan- Loy, Sajid-Wajid and Salim Sulaiman. He has also collaborated with the celebrated fusion maestro John McLaughlin on his 2008 album, titled Meeting Of The Mind.

A widely touring international artiste, Naveen has performed at some of the most prestigious venues around the globe. Some of his most memorable concerts include those at Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles; with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in London; at Commonwealth Games 2010, in Delhi,; and recently, for The President Of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee.

Los Angeles Times has lauded his musicianship in a feature, saying, “The delicate, atmospheric Indian flute of Naveen Kumar needs no extra visual enhancement”.

Besides being an ace musician, he is also a collector of flutes from around the globe. His collection boasts of instruments from countries such as Armenia, Scotland, Switzerland, China, South Africa and USA.